Search:
View the full details of each of our products, including our  reviews., Midnight Ink is a fresh new voice in mystery fiction committed to publishing suspenseful tales of all types: hard-boiled thrillers, cozies, historical mysteries, and amateur sleuth novels.  It's always midnight somewhere.'[McPherson's] character-driven romp is sparked by the larger-than-life, quirky residents of the Last Ditch Motel, putting this laugh-out-loud whodunit on a par with the early Janet

Home
Shopping Cart
Subscribe
Log In

Browse Books
By Category/Genre:
    Medium Boiled
    Paranormal
    Police Procedural / PI
    Soft-Boiled
        General Mystery
        Humorous
        Regional
        Women Sleuths
    Suspense & Thriller
    Traditional & Cozy
        Crafting
        Food
        Historical
        Humorous
        Traditional
By Series
New Releases
Forthcoming Titles
Best Sellers
Complete Title List
What's On Sale

Author Info
Author Bios
Author Blog
Author Events
Contact Publicity

Free Loot
Mystery Field Guide
Book Club Questions
Mystery Resources

Trade Services
Ordering Info
Trade Shows
Subsidiary Rights
Bookseller Signup
Bookseller Login
Forms & Resources

Book Information


Scot Free

By: Catriona McPherson
Series: A Last Ditch Mystery #1
Specs: Trade Paperback | 9780738753867
English  |  288 pages | 5 x 8 x 1 IN
Pub Date: April 2018
Price: $15.99
In Stock? Yes, ready to ship
Qty:

PRAISE
MORE INFORMATION
Product Summary
Excerpt: Scot Free
Praise
Browse Inside

Leave a review at Goodreads.com

"[McPherson's] character-driven romp is sparked by the larger-than-life, quirky residents of the Last Ditch Motel, putting this laugh-out-loud whodunit on a par with the early Janet Evanovich."—Library Journal (starred review)

"McPherson, a master of creepy psychological mysteries, shows an utterly different side of herself in this zany series kickoff."—Kirkus Reviews

"McPherson gives the fish-out-of-water theme a hilarious and original spin with Lexy Campbell, a Scottish therapist who falls for and marries a sexy California dentist who turns out to be more horndog than hero. Throw in a sweet old lady accused of blowing up her pyrotechnic husband and a hilariously bumbling supporting cast, and you have the perfect comic caper. Lexy is my new favorite unwitting detective and her cultural observations and mistakes are laugh-out-loud funny. Scot Free is a little sexy and a lot funny, with a heart and a bang."—Jess Lourey, Anthony and Lefty-nominated author

"The only times I stopped turning the pages were when I was laughing so hard it took both hands just to hold the book. McPherson is an ace plotter, a vivid, original stylist, and great company. A great beginning to a new series."—Timothy Hallinan, author of the Junior Bender series

"Everyone who knows me knows that I don't throw the word 'hoot' around lightly. So if I were to say that Catriona McPherson's new novel was a hoot, believe me, I would mean it. Filled with an entertaining cast of eccentric characters, Scot Free is a funny and original mystery. Quite frankly, it's a hoot. There, I said it."—Johnny Shaw, author of Big Maria and Imperial Valley

"Scot Free is a proper cuppa Scottish mystery served under harsh California sunshine—and everyone's a little crazy from the heat. Lexy and her Last Ditch friends are charming, weird, and laugh-out-loud funny. A real treat."—Lori Rader-Day, Mary Higgins Clark Award-winning author of Little Pretty Things

"Lexy's snide observations about the California lifestyle can't cover up her affection for her friends, who are as warm-hearted as they are weird. Readers will look forward to Lexy's further adventures."—Publishers Weekly

"McPherson, who has earned acclaim for her dark thrillers and Dandy Gilver period cozies, blends jaunty pacing, a comically rendered Southern California setting, and quirky characters in this series starter. A sure bet for fans of Janet Evanovich and Sarah Strohmeyer."—Booklist





Midnight Ink Home Submission Guidelines About Us Contact Us Cookies Policy Privacy Policy Sitemap
© 2018 Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Publications. All rights reserved.