Search:
Midnight Ink is a fresh new voice in mystery fiction committed to publishing suspenseful tales of all types: hard-boiled thrillers, cozies, historical mysteries, and amateur sleuth novels.  It's always midnight somewhere.

Home
Shopping Cart
Subscribe
Log In

Browse Books
By Category/Genre:
    Medium Boiled
    Paranormal
    Police Procedural / PI
    Soft-Boiled
        General Mystery
        Humorous
        Regional
        Women Sleuths
    Suspense & Thriller
    Traditional & Cozy
        Crafting
        Food
        Historical
        Humorous
        Traditional
By Series
New Releases
Forthcoming Titles
Best Sellers
Complete Title List
What's On Sale

Author Info
Author Bios
Author Blog
Author Events
Contact Publicity

Free Loot
Mystery Field Guide
Book Club Questions
Mystery Resources

Trade Services
Ordering Info
Trade Shows
Subsidiary Rights
Bookseller Signup
Bookseller Login
Forms & Resources

Book Information


The Accidental Alchemist
By: Gigi Pandian
An Accidental Alchemist Mystery #1

Release Date: January 2015
Specs: 9780738741840 | 5 x 8 x 1 IN  |  360 pages
Price: $15.99
In Stock? Yes, ready to ship


SUMMARY

From USA Today bestselling author Gigi Pandian comes a modern tale of ancient intrigue

Unpacking her belongings in her new hometown of Portland, Oregon, herbalist and reformed alchemist Zoe Faust can’t help but notice she’s picked up a stowaway. Dorian Robert-Houdin is a living, breathing three-and-half-foot gargoyle—not to mention a master of French cuisine—and he needs Zoe’s expertise to decipher a centuries-old text. Zoe, who’s trying to put her old life behind her, isn’t so sure she wants to reopen her alchemical past . . . until the dead man on her porch leaves her no choice.

Includes recipes!

Praise:

A 2016 Lefty Award winner for Best LCC Regional Mystery

“This reviewer is eagerly anticipating more from this series, and a return of a cast more fun than an episode of Portlandia.”—RT BOOK REVIEWS 1/2

“Pandian . . . launches a supernatural cozy series that hits high marks for a modern twist on an ancient practice. Amusing supporting characters and historical details solidify this engaging mystery.”—LIBRARY JOURNAL

"[A] lighthearted supernatural mystery . . . Pandian sets this series apart from other fluffy paranormal mysteries with Zoe's cute nonhuman sidekick and some mouthwatering vegan recipes."—PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"A whimsical and charming supernatural mystery."—MYSTERY SCENE

“What really makes this book stand out, however, is the originality . . . Pandian has managed to create an eccentric and charming cast of characters readers are going to want to spend more time with.”—RT BOOK REVIEWS ONLINE

"The Accidental Alchemist is a recipe for a great read. Gigi Pandian’s pen never disappoints."—JULIET BLACKWELL, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE WITCHCRAFT MYSTERY SERIES

“Mysterious, captivating, and infused with the rich history of the Northwest . . . fantastic.”—PORTLAND BOOK REVIEW

"A magical, whimsical cozy that will delight readers who enjoy Juliet Blackwell and Heather Weber mysteries!" —AVERY AAMES, AKA DARYL WOOD GERBER, AUTHOR OF THE CHEESE SHOP MYSTERIES

"Zoe and Dorian are my new favorite amateur-sleuth duo!" —VICTORIA LAURIE, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR

"Readers won't want to put this book down."—Vegetarian Journal

AVAILABLE EXCERPTS



Midnight Ink Home Submission Guidelines About Us Contact Us Sitemap
© 2017 Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Publications. All rights reserved.