Search:
Midnight Ink is a fresh new voice in mystery fiction committed to publishing suspenseful tales of all types: hard-boiled thrillers, cozies, historical mysteries, and amateur sleuth novels.  It's always midnight somewhere.

Home
Shopping Cart
Your Account
Subscribe
Unsubscribe

Browse Books
By Category/Genre:
    Medium Boiled
    Paranormal
    Police Procedural / PI
    Soft-Boiled
        General Mystery
        Humorous
        Regional
        Women Sleuths
    Suspense & Thriller
    Traditional & Cozy
        Crafting
        Food
        Historical
        Humorous
        Traditional
By Series
New Releases
Forthcoming Titles
Best Sellers
Complete Title List
What's On Sale

Author Info
Author Bios
Author Events
Contact Publicity

Free Loot
Midnight Ink Blog
Book Club Questions
Mystery Field Guide
Mystery Resources

Trade Services
Ordering Info
Trade Shows
Subsidiary Rights
Bookseller Signup
Bookseller Login
Forms & Resources

Book Information


Death of a Cozy Writer
Death of a Cozy Writer
By: G.M. Malliet
A St. Just Mystery #1

Release Date: July 2008
Specs: 9780738712482 | 5 x 8 x 1 IN  |  312 pages
Price: $14.99
In Stock? No, expect a delay in shipping


SUMMARY

Winner of the 2008 Agatha Award for Best First Novel

From deep in the heart of his eighteenth century English manor, millionaire Sir Adrian Beauclerk-Fisk writes mystery novels and torments his four spoiled children with threats of disinheritance. Tiring of this device, the portly patriarch decides to weave a malicious twist into his well-worn plot. Gathering them all together for a family dinner, he announces his latest blow – a secret elopement with the beautiful Violet... who was once suspected of murdering her husband.

Within hours, eldest son and appointed heir Ruthven is found cleaved to death by a medieval mace. Since Ruthven is generally hated, no one seems too surprised or upset – least of all his cold-blooded wife Lillian. When Detective Chief Inspector St. Just is brought in to investigate, he meets with a deadly calm that goes beyond the usual English reserve. And soon Sir Adrian himself is found slumped over his writing desk – an ornate knife thrust into his heart. Trapped amid leering gargoyles and stone walls, every member of the family is a likely suspect. Using a little Cornish brusqueness and brawn, can St. Just find the killer before the next-in-line to the family fortune ends up dead?

Death of a Cozy Writer was chosen by Kirkus Reviews as a Best Book of 2008, nominated for a Left Coast Crime award (the Hawaii Five-O for best police procedural), short-listed for the Macavity Award for Best First Mystery, nominated for the Anthony Award for Best First Novel and was a finalist for the David G. Sasher, Sr. Award for Best Mystery Novel.

G.M. Malliet's Death of a Cozy Writer won the 2008 Agatha Award for Best First Novel and a silver medal for the IPPY awards in the category of Mystery/Suspense/Thriller.

REVIEWS

"The mystery was complex and satisfying, with several unpredictable twists, and St. Just and Fear are likeable but funny investigators."

On My Bookshelf

"In her series debut, Malliet, who won a Malice Domestic Grant to write this novel, lays the foundation for an Agatha Christie–like murder mystery."

Library Journal, April 2008

"This tale cleverly adds modern touches to an Agatha Christie style classic house mystery."
—Mystery Women Magazine

“Almost every sentence is a polished, malicious gem, reminiscent of Robert Barnard…the book is perfect for the lover of the classical detective story or the fan of great sentences.”

Deadly Pleasures Magazine

"Malliet's skillful debut demonstrates the sophistication one would expect of a much more established writer.  I'm looking forward to her next genre-bender, Death and the Lit Chick."

Mystery Scene Magazine

"Fans of English detective work will welcome Malliet's droll debut, the first in a new series."—Publishers Weekly

"G.M. Malliet's Death of a Cozy Writer is a delightful homage to the great novels of Britian's Golden Age of Mysteries, which lasted from about 1913 to the beginning of World War II: a time when Agatha Christie, Margery Allingham, Dorothy Sayers, and Ngaio Marsh's writing careers were in full bloom."

—Nancy Pearl, KUOW-FM

"The connections made by St. Just are nothing short of Sherlock Holmes at his most coherent. A most excellent first mystery!"

Midwest Book Review, July 2008

"A good old fashion whodunit that Agatha Christie would have been pleased to claim as her own."

Alibi Books

"Try Ms. Malliet's prize-winning debut for a classic cozy set in modern times."

—Fresh Fiction

"All in all a delightful read."

—Debra Hamel for Book-Blog

"Good mystery, characters, descriptive phrases, and resolution. Malliet could have a great series on her hands."

The Mystery Bookstore

"I'm definitely a fan an eager for the next in the series. Keep them coming, Gin!"

Mysterical-E

"[T]his novel delivers exactly what you hoped it would: a new packaging of the old formula, and a very enjoyable read."

Gumshoe Review

“Readers who enjoy all things British, as well as a good whodunit, will find these novels just the ticket.”
Free Lance-Star

"An affectionate homage to the Golden Age of British crime fiction by a skilled writer rapidly attracting attention." The Record (Sherbrooke, Quebec)

"Malliet's debut combines devices from Christie and Clue to keep you guessing until the dramatic denouement."

Kirkus Reviews, April 2008 

"Death of a Cozy Writer is a book anyone who cut their teeth on Agatha Christie's mysteries will treasure. I read it once for the story, and plan to read it a second time just to savor the language. It's that good."

—Cozy Library

PUBLICITY REVIEWS

"In the beginning, Death of a Cozy Writer will entertain readers with its characters, setting, and board game-like features, but in the end will captivate them with a compelling denouement in a familiar gathering of the suspects in the drawing room."

Mysterious Reviews

"Wicked, witty and full of treats, G.M. Malliet's debut novel has the sure touch of a classy crime writer. More, please!"

—Peter Lovesey, recipient of Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Crime Writer's Association and Malice Domestic

"The traditional British cozy is alive and well. Delicious. I was hooked from the first paragraph."

—Rhys Bowen, award-winning author of Her Royal Spyness

"Death of a Cozy Writer, G.M. Malliet's hilarious first mystery, is a must-read for fans of Robert Barnard and P.G. Wodehouse. I'm looking forward eagerly to Inspector St. Just's next case!"

—Donna Andrews, award-winning author of The Penguin Who Knew Too Much

"A house party in a Cambridgeshire mansion with the usual suspects, er, guests--a sly patriarch, grasping relatives, a butler, and a victim named Ruthven (what else?)--I haven't had so much fun since Anderson's 'Affair of the Bloodstained Egg Cosy.' Pass the tea and scones, break out the sherry, settle down in the library by the fire and enjoy Malliet's delightful tribute to the time-honored tradition of the English country house mystery."

—Marcia Talley, Agatha and Anthony award-winning author of Dead Man Dancing and six previous mysteries

"Death of a Cozy Writer is a romp, a classic tale of family dysfunction in a moody and often humourous English country house setting. A worthy addition to the classic mystery tradition and the perfect companion to a cup of tea and a roaring fire, or a sunny deck chair. Relax and let G.M. Malliet introduce you to the redoubtable Detective Chief Inspector St. Just of the Cambridgeshire Constabulary. I'm sure we'll be hearing much more from him!"

—Louise Penny, author of the award-winning Armand Gamache series of murder mysteries

 

"...a charming new series."

—Mystery Lover's Bookshop (PA)

"Humor, red herrings, and a few unlikeable characters make this a very enjoyable cozy."

—Des Plaines Public Library, Staff Picks

"I've found a reason to read genre mystery again.  You have, too."

Bookish News, Possibly of Interest




Midnight Ink Home Submission Guidelines About Us Contact Us Sitemap
© 2014 Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Publications. All rights reserved.